The Herald-Whig is your in-depth source for the latest breaking news, features, sports, photography and weather in West-Central Illinois and Northeast Missouri.
It traces its roots to The Illinois Bounty Land Register, which published its first edition on April 17, 1835, 17 years after Illinois achieved statehood.
The Illinois Bounty Land Register became The Herald in 1841, and was purchased in 1891 by Edmund M. Botsford, Hedley H. Eaton and Charles L. Miller.
Miller brought his brother-in-law and nephew, Aaron Burr Oakley and Ray M. Oakley, to The Herald with him. These two became the first generations of Oakleys in the newspaper business in Quincy.
In the meantime, The Quincy Whig was established. The Quincy Whig changed hands several times before it was purchased in 1915 by Frank M. Lindsay, Sr. and Arthur O. Lindsay, Sr. A.O. Lindsay remained in Quincy as president and manager. F.M. Lindsay remained in Decatur with the Decatur. In 1920, the Whig purchased The Quincy Journal, established on Sept. 11, 1863, and began publishing The Whig-Journal.
The Quincy Herald and The Whig-Journal competed for six years until, in 1926, the two merged, forming The Quincy Herald-Whig and Quincy Newspapers, Inc.
The Herald-Whig is now published in a three-story building stretching for a half-block in the heart of downtown Quincy, a unique multi-level facility housing a state-of-the art publishing operation and the corporate offices of QNI.